Father’s Day

Father’s Day in USA is this year on Sunday 17th. Reason enough to have a flashback to the person, who adopted me. He was a kind of Adolf Eichmann – read my article “A German Biography”. My father-flashbacks are nightmares. But I was glad, to find other people in my lifetime, who supported me very much. Teachers, friends, bloggers. I enjoy to read other father stories, for example the story, how the father of Geoff Quinn tried to survive after a plane crash. As he noticed he couldn’t find out off the desert in the deep snow (without any GPS & mobile phone in the fifties), he wrote a letter & put it in a bottle. We can understand, that his son loves this bottle-post, found later, when the snow was gone.
me, adopted
me, no money for sun-glasses! In the background: the man who adopted me.
“Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.” [Søren Kierkegaard]
related:
flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/vatertag-fathers-day
flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/fathers/
flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/06/19/fathers-day/
flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/dialogue-with-argentina
flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/courage/
flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/10/10/kierkegaards-courage
flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/german-biography/

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

24 responses to “Father’s Day

  1. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Greta photo and sending you best wishes for a Happy Father’s Day!

    Like

  3. I’ll never understand cruelty to an innocent child. Discipline is necessary but never to be administered in anger. Despite all this, sounds like you raised two fine daughters and are being repaid for the years the locust has eaten.
    I have no need to complain as I grew up with a loving, doting father. The boys did have it a bit tougher but he was NEVER cruel. He let them be kids and then when in their teens treated them man-to-man, as it should be. He’d take them in the living room for these little chats. They got the message. 🙂
    Glad you are at peace now. Though you have an illness, you are using your time well.
    Watch for my new bio soon.
    Peace,
    Alexandria

    Like

    • thanks, Alexandria,
      for your reflections inspired by Kierkegaard!
      “A population that doesn’t stop to think
      is much easier to rule over…”
      +
      P.S.:
      Socrates was criticized,
      because he stopped to think
      though inmidst a battle vs. so called enemies …
      +
      looking back to my roots 1945-1955, first ten years of my life, I discover that the horrible ideology of the racism in the Third Reich didn’t came abruptly to an end immediately 1945; it took at least ten years in Germany, maybe twenty (or more?) to start a new way of thinking, feeling, acting; I have to thank the youth revolution of 1968, I have to thank the music, the philosophy, the psychology, they all helped me to overcome German idiotisms …

      Like

      • Wow, what a great comment! I see you commented part of this on my post about the thoughtful thinker. I’d like to ask a favor of you. I wonder if you would send this in it’s entirety as a comment under The Thoughtful Thinker so I can post it all.
        You have experienced what is rare these days. Your experience of what it took to undo your thinking is profound and can have a strong influence as others read. I think about the quote “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”
        Thoughtful comments as this are exactly what I’m trying to say with this section.
        I think many more would comment but are a hesitant, perhaps due to their governments. But it has received “likes” from all over the world.
        If you do this, perhaps it would open up more dialogue about it. I do understand if you do not, but I would so appreciate it.
        Alexandria

        Like

        • hi Alexandria,
          as you wrote in your ABOUT page: “what exactly is the truth? It is said by many, truth is relative, truth is different for everybody. This is the great fallacy of modern thought. Truth is, in essence, what is and is not ruled by relativism…” frizz-reply: we can feel deep in our souls, what is fair, what is unfair. You are related to the bible. I’m related to Immanuel Kant. Both ways are good bridges to reflect TRUTH – and fairness.

          Like

  4. I think it if brave to tell the truth of nightmares as you remember this man who adopted you. I read the accompanying articles and cannot imagine what you experienced.
    I know you are a loving father and grandfather and that is a wonderful life!
    Best to you on Father’s Day and everyday.
    Ruth in Pittsburgh

    Like

  5. May you find love and peace now. And live life forward.

    Like

  6. Ahh little Frizz you still look the same! Love the Kierkegaard 🙂

    Like

  7. Happy Father’s day Frizz! [I agree with Gilly Gee.]

    Like

  8. A very well expressed account of a difficult childhood.
    Our past is never forgotten but we move forward.
    Happy Father’s day Frizz !!!!

    Like

  9. Nice sharing. Happy father’s day. 🙂

    Like

  10. thank you for sharing a difficult story. . . and you, my friend, have a very happy father’s day.

    Like

  11. What is most important, Frizz, is that you turned out to be a great father! Hope you enjoyed YOUR day 🙂

    Like

  12. Thank-you for this share and for the perspective. My husband was stationed in Germany three times. He loved it. He also said that depending on the generations you could see there were varying ideologies, as I imagine their would be in other countries. It oftne gave him food for thought. Happy Father’s Day.

    Close

    Like

    • “…depending on the generations
      you could see there were varying ideologies…”
      +
      frizz: yes, Cathy, there was a big gap between the generation of the racist fathers and the 68er generation, fighting for a new world of real democracy and respect!

      Like

  13. Very sad to read about the nightmare father-flashbacks.

    I hope you enjoy your fathers day.

    Like

  14. Regardless of conditions, you made it. ✿♡✿Happy Father’s Day!

    Like

  15. I completely agree with Madhu, Frizz…
    you’ve overcome a lot to become the wonderful Father you are…
    and I hope that you were rewarded with the happiest of Father’s Days!

    Like

  16. Happy father’s day, and grandfather’s day and even, for you have been one of the great fathers and great grandfathers and your children and their children are lucky — as are you!!!!
    Fondly
    Geoff

    Like

  17. Happy belated Father’s Day and i love your cute comment…no money for sunglasses. Probably good in a way since it would have covered your cute smiling face. 🙂

    Like

  18. You’re an inspiration – you have risen from a difficult childhood to raise a family filled with love and warmth. Thank you for sharing your story. Happy Belated Father’s Day! 🙂

    Like

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.