New York Ballad

16-tons-photo

New York! Oh, if I could sing, I would sing about New York. A ballad about Dominique Strauss-Kahn? Tom Wolfe made it better in his novel “The Bonfire of the Vanities”. Though still one of my favorite points of view is the novel by John dos Passos: “Manhattan Transfer”. Best paintings? Maybe those by James Rizzi. Happy. Though 9/11 is not a story to make happy summaries. Although Osama bin Laden was killed now. But it’s not a Bonnie and Clyde story to sing ballads about. Also not nice: The death of my hero John Lennon. Some positive thoughts related to New York? Yes. Manhattan helped Piet Mondrian and Max Beckmann, Andre Kertesz and Andreas Feininger, Theodor W. Adorno and Ernst Bloch to escape the “Third Reich”. A summary from Germany: by Frizztext: had my best days in New York

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

3 responses to “New York Ballad

  1. Very sweet… I like this new picture you use on your gravatar too.. Nice sepia shade to go with the sunshades. 🙂

    Like

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.