Pittsburgh

At first you notice, as a foreigner in the USA: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Boston, New Orleans – but then with growing appetite you might discover Seattle, Houston, maybe at last Pittsburgh. But I think as a German, living in a region with abandoned steel industry, sold to China, many jobless, I can understand many parts of the poorer city landscape, the urban jungle with graffiti and lost neighborhoods of Pittsburgh – not easy to discover behind wonderful panorama shots as sent to my flickr group BLOG IT – enjoy 10 of them below. Of course flashdance with Jennifer Beals and the voice of Irene Cara was an exciting first bridge to discover Pittsburgh. But yesterday I had the chance to learn something about the inner life of Pittsburgh, reading the article of Francine Gassette, titled: My neighborhood. She made a youtube video featuring her photos – introducing some backyards behind the postcard-photography. And the jazz guitar sound track is great!!! Enjoy Francine’s youtube video below too!
+
at first enjoy twelve flickr photos, sent by various photographers to my group BLOG IT, click on the pictures to enter the galleries of the different photographers:
1
Day 21: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
title=”Day 21: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania” by Prime Oracle
2
The Burgh Ready for Christmas
title=”The Burgh Ready for Christmas” by Don Burkett
3
A Packed House
title=”A Packed House” by DaveReid
4
Cruising the Mon
title=”Cruising the Mon” by DaveReid
5
986
title=”986″ by ramskik
6
crazy mocha
title=”crazy mocha” by defunct_process
7
Cathedral of Learning, Pittsburgh
title=”Cathedral of Learning, Pittsburgh” by Raji Vathyam
8
Ecclesia
title=”Ecclesia” by dave issod
9
i felt the earth move under my feet
title=”i felt the earth move under my feet … by fuzzzEe
10
Untitled
title=”Untitled” by congoeels
11
I'm going to call this one,
title=”I’m going to call this one”, by Hryck.
12
City of Steel - Pittsburgh [Explored]
title=”City of Steel” – Pittsburgh [Explored] by Raji Vathyam

and now the video of Francine Gassette living in retirement in Pittsburgh:

at first I realized there’s a city named Pittsburgh via the movie FLASHDANCE with Jennifer Beals (and the music of Irene Cara):

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

16 responses to “Pittsburgh

  1. Thank you so much for featuring my video of Pittsburgh on your blog. This is just a first of the many neighborhoods I will be posting on my blog. Thank you for your support and encouragement.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  2. Francine in Retirement beautifully illustrates why we love to call Pittsburgh HOME! She is an excellent photographer and a good friend. THanks for the great article, Frizz, and for highlighting our city. If you want to see a view of the famous Pittsburgh skyline in a snowstorm you can click here

    Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

    Like

    • you’ve uploaded so many wonderful pictures featuring your Pittsburgh, yes – your winter impressions – and I like your night time long exposure shots very much!

      Like

  3. petit4chocolatier

    Beautiful.

    Like

  4. Between you and Francine, and the fact that I’ve lived in northern Virginia for over 25 years and never visited Pittsburgh before, I am bound and determined to visit that city when I return to the USA. I can’t wait. I LOVE that Flashdance video. That was one of my favorite movies back in the day. 🙂

    Like

  5. Great post. You’ve inspired me to do a more general Baltimore post. I need to get out and take some pictures of the town anyway, because my sister’s anti-racist group asked if I could take some photos for their website.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Neighborhood | Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  7. Thank you so much for Francine’s entertaining and enjoyable stroll through Pittsburgh! I have happy memories of sandwiches at Primanti’s downtown!

    Like

  8. Oh dear,
    you featured 2 photographs of mine here, and that too with such great shots of Pittsburgh, All I can say is Thank you! Pittsburgh is a beautiful city and your blog is doing a great job of promoting it 🙂

    Thanks once again, also for the photograph of the “Crazy Mocha”, it is one of my fav places in the city!

    Raji

    Like

  9. ahhhhh…this brings back good memories. I lived and worked in Pittsburgh for six years. We lived in a three-story Victorian house built in the late 1800s. In the first photo, you can see the building where I used to work (on the left across one of the bridges). I would park my car at Heinz Field and walk 10 minutes to work.
    One of my favorite places to go on the weekend was the Strip District (http://www.visitpittsburgh.com/essentials/neighborhoods/strip-district/). I particularly liked Wholey’s for their great seafood and meats, and the ethnic markets.

    Like

  10. Pingback: March Stats | Flickr Comments

  11. Pingback: PPP-Challenge | Flickr Comments

  12. Pingback: Tribute to a backyard graffiti | Flickr Comments

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.