Take this hammer – criticizing jobs

below: me on my acoustic “Gitane” Gypsy guitar trying to perform Leadbelly’s TAKE THIS HAMMER – criticizing jobs with inhuman conditions…
close your eyes ...
LeadBelly / Huddie William Ledbetter (1888/01/20 – 1949/12/06) was an American Folk Blues singer, often prisoned, he had to work (with a big hammer) in chain gangs for the railroad companies. Sometimes he escaped running faster than the sheriff’s dogs. A governor and a book author helped him to leave jail for several performances – so we know for example his song TAKE THIS HAMMER – for me a great inspiration to criticize some jobs with inhuman conditions. Leadbelly’s song lyrics helped me when I couldn’t work anymore: “Take this hammer – carry it to the captain – tell him I’m gone! I don’t want your cornbread ‘n’ mo lasses – it hurts my pride / Oh Lord, it hurts my pride…”

the BEATLES also recorded a rocking version:

related:
http://bumbastories.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/take-this-hammer/
+
https://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/special-photo-challenge-inspiration/

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

10 responses to “Take this hammer – criticizing jobs

  1. …very inspirational song for me too!

    Like

  2. that is so happy, and it takes my mind off of what’s happening on the gulf coast. thanks, i needed that! z

    Like

  3. Never heard that Beatles cover before. I like your version too.

    Like

  4. maybe today’s post is too depressive – so let’s escape from this mood entering a house full of music:

    found via

    2% Happier

    Like

  5. I normally love Beatles, but I can’t say this version sends me. I prefer yours.

    Like

  6. How I admire your taking up this theme of inhumane working conditions in your music, Frizz!

    Like

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.