Chess Design

I like to play chess and so I’ve posted several times photos, related to chess design, for example introducing one of my own boards (a red and white version) or featuring my black knight who some times has a certain wanderlust. Therefore I was very amused, when I discovered the creative ideas of various chess designers at inspirationfeed: 20 aesthetic chess set designs
1
chess
2Knight3chess knights
4Bobby Fischer (1943-2008)5knight in Berlin
5 photos above by frizztext, click on the pictures to enter the flickr galleries
related:
http://inspirationfeed.com/inspiration/industrial-inspiration/20-aesthetic-chess-set-designs/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+inspirationfeed%2FBTLD+%28inspirationfeed.com%29

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

7 responses to “Chess Design

  1. The red and white is surprisingly effective!

    Like

  2. If you’re ever in the Pacific Northwest, the Maryhill Museum has a collection of chess sets.

    Like

  3. I have a chess set I bought some 35 years ago. It’s made of some type of glass. I think it’s beautiful. But… There is one piece missing!!!!!! I need to find a chess piece maker 😦
    Your red set is fantastic!

    Like

  4. My mother has a chess set that was carved by her uncle and also a coupe of pieces that were carved by her father. Making a chess set is always one of those things that’s lurked in the back of my mind, so I really love seeing this.

    Did you see the chess set that I put on my blog? It’s at the American Visionary Arts museum and the larger pieces are a little less than a meter high. There are some color photos in this gallery.

    Like

  5. petit4chocolatier

    Gorgeous! I have a small wooden chess set and my son has been teaching me for a couple of years when he has time. I don’t think I am strategic enough yet, but am having fun trying!

    Like

  6. Very cool chess pieces! I’ve always wanted to learn to play! Just using these pieces would be lovely.

    Like

  7. The red and white design is my favorite! I tried chess a very long time ago, but I still don’t know how to play.

    Like

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.