Donna Donna – Protest Song

I played the song faster as usual trying to express the energy of the message: DONNA DONNA is a protest song vs. the racism of the Nazi disaster – “Who told you a calf to be? – Why don’t you have wings to fly with – Like the swallow so proud and free?”
https://soundcloud.com/fingerstyle_guitar/donna-donna-protest-song

read more about the history of the song in my blog at

DONNA DONNA – history of a song


Itzhak Katzenelson, who performed the protest song, was killed by the Nazis in Auschwitz 1944. – Lyrics, written by Aaron Zeitlin.

comments at SoundCloud:

Robyn Youlten, Melbourne, Australia, wrote:
robynyoulten’s avatar
One of the 1st folk songs I learnt from an old friend … you play it so wonderfully!! Peace for everyone’s sake. In a world gone mad… You know… I never knew quite what this was about… – animal rights, I knew it was a protest… and now I know and it all makes sense…
~~~~~~~
my reply:
fingerstyle_guitar’s avatar
Wars related to religions actually are in many countries… better they should learn guitar than getting aggressive by a dark religion…

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

3 responses to “Donna Donna – Protest Song

  1. Message well expressed, Frizz with your excellent playing! 🙂

    Like

  2. Excellent rendition, Frizz. I once taught this song to my school pupils, and gave them a brief explanation of the meaning. Very sad that Itzhak was killed. 😦

    Like

  3. This is the best song, and I sing with you dear Frizz, I pray I am in dream… and when I wake up I will find myself in my beautiful, democratic and republic country… without any dictator!!!!!
    Thank you, love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.