Istanbul Clashs

I have sympathy for the latest development in Turkey: street protesters are fighting for a fair democracy, criticizing the autocratically style of Erdogan. Instead of giving stupid orders to the police, they should give more space for discussions. Too many journalists are in prison in Turkey!
1
Untitled
photo by Rubidiculous = Burak Turan, kindly sent to my group BLOG IT!, click on the picture to enter his galleries on Flickr.com
2
3B
title=”3B” – photo by maistora / Vladimir Dimitroff, kindly sent to my group BLOG IT! click on the picture to enter his galleries on Flickr.com
+
in my article
https://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2013/06/03/germany-wins-a-popularity-poll/ Vladimir Dimitroff comments:
As to Turkey, events there make me very sad and concerned. I have many friends there, travel frequently and spend long enough to love the country. Seeing it sink into a totalitarian (and potentially fundamentalist) state doesn’t fill me with joy. The Turkey that was an example for a fast maturing nation on a path to democracy? The Turkey that was an example to the Muslim world of a tolerant, pluralist model, where all races, religions and cultures coexisted in enviable peace – is it still there? Is it going to last? With an obsessed and arrogant leader bent on changing the constitution to overstay his mandate in power, with excessive use of force in oppressing dissent, and with imposing single-sided cultural preferences through draconian laws – the picture doesn’t look too promising…
3
istanbul protests
title=”istanbul protests” – photo by SimonSawSunlight, kindly sent to my group BLOG IT!, click on the picture to enter his galleries on Flickr.com
4
.
photo by Thorsten Strasas, kindly sent to my group BLOG IT!, click on the picture to enter his galleries on Flickr.com
related:
http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2013/06/a-week-of-furious-protest-in-turkey/100529/
+
http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2013/06/in-turkey-days-of-anti-government-protests-and-harsh-crackdowns/100525/
+
http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2013/06/protests_in_turkey.html
+
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/turkey/10099200/Turkeys-deputy-prime-minister-apologises-for-wrong-and-unjust-protest-break-up.html

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

4 responses to “Istanbul Clashs

  1. I knew Erdogan was going to be trouble as soon as I heard about him. He’s basically trying to undo all the amazing things Ataturk did for Turkey to make it a more secular and pluralistic country. He’s become even worse than I thought he would be. I hope they overthrow him and his autocratic government. I for one am cheering them on!

    Like

  2. I really appreciated the broad mindedness of Turkey when I was there, an example to be followed not destroyed.

    Like

  3. you’re really a good webmaster. The website loading pace is amazing. It seems that you’re doing any distinctive trick.
    Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a magnificent process on this topic!

    Like

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.