The Changing Of The Idols

Maybe we could write about the changing of the idols in different decades of our lifetime?
idols
Recently I discovered the charismatic Coen Brothers and their movie “Brother where art you?” – I sat down, grabbed my guitar – and tried to play the main soundtrack of the movie: “Man of constant sorrow”:
https://soundcloud.com/fingerstyle_guitar/for-the-coen-brothers

comments at flickr:
[http://www.flickr.com/photos/urania451]
Urania di Arrakis asked:
ma quello in mezzo si mangia?
google translates:
but what you eat in the middle?
answer by frizztext:
2 – in the middle: my father was a baker, so this “Stutenkerl” reminds me of him
3 – founder of Dubrovnik
1 – I studied at first theology (then social sciences etc.)

  1. 4 – nowadays I like good guitar players

  2. Urania di Arrakis28 minutes ago

     lol
    the one in the middle seems like bread, sweet bread…like a gingerbread 🙂

  3. Frizztext16 minutes ago


    it tastes like gingerbread and the ritual is to give it as a present to children on 6th of December every year: Santa Claus …

  4. Urania di Arrakis6 minutes ago | reply | delete

     I like this little funny monster 😀

  5. Frizztexta moment ago


    but my father, the baker, was a monster: he put me into an orphanage 3 weeks after birth. It took me 40 years to find out who he was and where he lived. Then he tried to be a good fellow, brought bread every morning to me, my wife and our two little daughters. Thank you for inspiring me to talk my “idols”, I’m writing about this in my daily blog parallel too…

related:
http://frizz-small.tumblr.com/

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

7 responses to “The Changing Of The Idols

  1. Pat

    Great job, Frizz. We just watched this movie again and the whole sound track is great. I never noticed who wrote it. I have the CD up in Michigan and am eager to get back to play it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice. That movie has an amazing soundtrack.

    Like

  3. Lara/Trace

    Frizz – you are awesome! (and adopted like me) Love your blog posts!

    Like

  4. Great guitar playing, Frizz. I loved this movie and the soundtrack too.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: OBJECT | Flickr Comments

  6. Pingback: Bluegrass | Flickr Comments

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.