Optimistic Amsterdam

The lifestyle in Holland, Belgium, Luxembourg is much more carefree than for example in Germany. As a German, I of course fear that some truck drivers overlook the little girl on the pink scooter. Trust is good, skepticism is better.

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

18 responses to “Optimistic Amsterdam

  1. This scene is pretty unthinkable in the UK too – where traffic rules. Nice to be carefree girl on a pink scooter.

    Like

  2. Trust is good… so good… and I can’t imagine in here… because of this I can’t have a bike, my son and my husband don’t let me. But there are so many things we need to trust in my country… For example police… I try to keep away myself from politics but hits me always with something. Thank you, love, nia

    Like

    • women on bicycles in Turkey – not usual? I hope democracy – and women’s liberation – will develop there, so I hope, that the current street protests in Ankara and Istanbul cannot be ignored by Erdogan – and will change the society. Of course I wouldn’t run around in the streets in those times filled with tear gas and water cannons – but I would try to use the internet working for democracy. Most journalists in prison: in Turkey. A reason to fly via twitter or wordpress over the borders. I hope modern technologies can help to make a society better. To make people free – maybe as free as the little owl in the chimney you made a portrait from. P.S.: better to fly high above than creep like a worm on the streets…

      Like

  3. What a cute picture! Kids here would love to be able to zip along on scooters but unfortunately it is against the traffic laws…

    Like

  4. Is it a real scooter? scary!

    Like

    • ?”reminding me of my loss. I walk the moor to immerse myself in its fragrance, though I can hardly bear it. Never has the extreme weather of 2003 been repeated. Some higher power must have punished me to have swept my child away in the river…”?

      Like

  5. Too scary for words. Children in U.S. not allowed to do this.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  6. I would be petrified to let my child ride out in open traffic.
    Lifestyles everywhere are very different.

    Like

  7. This is unimaginable in Mexico City where the car drivers don’t even respect the pedestrians. It’s very difficult and dangerous to cross the streets. Generally you have to run to cross the streets even with red light!

    Like

    • I’ve heard a lot about the chaos traffic in Mexico City = I’m very glad, that you are still unhurt! Take care of you, maybe buy wings? Frido Kahlo was a victim of a traffic accident too!

      Like

  8. Pinky looks very serious about her scooter. I think she’d be a force to be reckoned with if someone came near her. 🙂

    Like

  9. This would be unthinkable where I live for oh so many reasons…

    Like

  10. It’s a different culture. I accept the precious pink little one and wish for her well being. Truth is good, skepticism is better? To travel with doubt in life and everyone is not better. Caution is better than being a skeptic I think?
    Are they interchangeable words? I don’t think so.

    Like

  11. Adorable little girl on the pink scooter!

    Like

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.