Scott McKenzie 1939-2012 R.I.P.

Scott McKenzie (January 10, 1939 – August 18, 2012) died in Los Angeles. His greatest hit: “San Francisco (If you’re going to San Francisco, be sure to wear some flowers in your hair)”, written by John Phillips of The Mamas & the Papas, and sung by Scott McKenzie 1967.
Homage to San Francisco (at Dusk)
title=”Homage to San Francisco (at Dusk)” by Geoffrey Quinn / gcquinn, click on the picture to enter his galleries on Flickr

more and more musicians of my generation reached the dead line: this month Scott McKenzie; of course we all try to live as long as possible – I was born 1945, a year when many died – let’s try to make music till the very end – Gloria Gaynor’s I WILL SURVIVE:
+
1) I WILL SURVIVE, fingerstyle guitar instrumental

2) myself playing the same tune on banjo

3) Nina Nyembwe (coming from Kinshasa), Lutz (keyboards) and Michael (saxophone): “I will survive”, performed in my current hometown:

About frizztext

websites: 1 - my wordpress blog "flickrcomments" at FLICKRCOMMENTS, 2 - my photos at frizztext, 3 - my guitar exercises fingerstyle_guitar, 4 - my museum-series The MUSEUM SERIES

14 responses to “Scott McKenzie 1939-2012 R.I.P.

  1. RIP. Two great songs and a poignant post. Great tribute.

    Like

  2. All across the nation, there’s a strange vibration . . . still vibrating in that beautiful song!

    Like

  3. I loved that song. I’m so sad that my internet here is too slow to listen to your clips. :(

    Like

  4. An older video found on you tube

    Like

    • Leider ist dieses Video, das Musik von SME beinhaltet, in Deutschland nicht verfügbar, da die GEMA die Verlagsrechte hieran nicht eingeräumt hat.
      Das tut uns leid.

      Like

  5. Greetings from my youth
    Now he is a real legende

    Like

  6. I will get a nice post out for him tonight.

    I enjoyed your rendition of I Will Survive.

    George.

    Like

  7. How MANY times did I sing along with this one! RIP, indeed!

    Like

  8. Fabulos Tribute, awesome music. So cool the different verions of a tune that was once my victory song.
    Thanks for the stroll down memeory lane and the great music. ~ BB

    Like

  9. I have nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award
    To claim the award – go to my blog, Justice for Raymond and follow the same instructions and copy the badge to your blog..
    I do enjoy your posts.

    Like

Hearing from you makes my day!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,125 other followers

