Lost Music

“He who ignored music: lived with a big failure!” – once the philosopher Nietzsche said. Listening to the radio and playing guitar for more than 50 years: I’ve lost a lot of good songs out of my memory. Vinyl records lost. Tape recorder lost. Paper-notebooks with chords and tabs for guitar lost.
Lute
Cassettes lost, but saved some tracks, converted digitally, to CD and USB-stick.
written guitar music
It goes on and on. Now I discovered CHORDIFY.NET = a paradise for guitarists! Fill in a youtube URL and the software will present the chord progress! I’ve made a test with two of my favorite songs: (1) “Mockingbird” by Carly Simon and James Taylor and (2) a version of the “September Song” played by the Gypsy jazz guitarist Bireli Lagrene.

1.
http://chordify.net/chords/mockingbird-carly-simon-james-taylor-janietf1

2.
http://chordify.net/chords/bireli-lagrene-ensemble-september-song-april-1981-heinz-becker

related:
http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2013/09/just-how-much-of-musical-history-has-been-lost-to-history/279948/

About Didi van Frits

writer, photographer, guitarist, painter

20 responses to “Lost Music

  1. Thanks Frizz! I love the Lagrène way of playing!…
    I have lost myself a lot of things with age…I hope some of them I would be able to find them again!
    Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. thank you for:
    “I have lost myself
    a lot of things with age…
    I hope some of them
    I would be able
    to find them again!”

    Like

  3. Beautiful shots, both of them. Mockingbird! One of my all time favorites along with Carly Simon. I think she looks absolutely stunning, sexy, superb, and scintillating on the cover of her Anticipation album. A shot I’ve always admired.

    Like

  4. Great finds, Frizz!! 🙂
    Ah, cassettes… boxes and boxes full of them. Vinyl is -sort of- back but tapes will always hold a special place in my heart.

    Like

  5. Frizz, I still have and use my CD player (walkman version), so I don’t feel I need an iPod; although, my family, doesn’t have vinyl records anymore. Vinyl records are now collectibles… I think also CD players like mine. Don’t you think? I remember that when I was a child I had various vynil record with music for children. I still remember some songs.
    Kind greetings,
    Marianne

    Like

  6. Love that September Song jazz guitar. Fabulous! 🙂

    Like

  7. Caddo

    I like the “September Song”–kind of a jazzed up version of “Autumn Leaves”, isn’t it?

    Like

    • it’s the same mood but different chord progresses – I’m trying to develop a simple fingerpicking arrangement for my acoustic solo guitar performances – but it is difficult – maybe I’m now too old …

      Like

  8. Love the Lagrene track Frizz! My vinyls are coming with me to the nursing home!

    Like

  9. Excellent post and photos, Frizz. Music amplifies everything in life.

    Like

Hearing from you makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.