Alley Oop

“If you are ill,” philosopher NIETZSCHE said: “that’s good, because you then have time enough to look back.” 1960, aged 15, I had my first dancing lessons and dates. Often heard: “Alley Oop” by “The Hollywood Argyles”, that was a number one hit in 1960. “Alley Oop” of French “allez-hop” means:”… an exhortation or to signal the start of an activity. ” (Anu Garg). As I laid down ill in my bed, this song came in my mind – and the optimism of HARRY, the traveler dog. For me & all other ill friends out there: let’s grab some optimism to rise up again!
HARRY, the traveler dog
Alley Oop, oop, oop! (photo by frizztext, click on the picture to enter his flickr galleries)

About frizztext

websites: 1 - my daily wordpress blog "flickrcomments" at FLICKRCOMMENTS, 2 - photo pool at frizztext, 3 - flickr group BLOG IT!, 4 - twitter, 5 - my guitar, 6 - about.me

14 responses to “Alley Oop

  1. Ooops Mag sein, dass es dem hund Spaß macht. Gefragt ist er sicher vorher nicht worden .

    Like this

  2. Very interestin photos! Nick

    Like this

  3. liz2you

    Hope you are not too ill for tomorrow! Don’t want to miss ‘n’
    Liz

    Like this

  4. Lovely! Hope you dance soon again.

    Like this

  5. Now – you’ve got me singing that song. It was always fun because
    there were so few words. Thanks for the memory. Get well soon. ~~~ : – )

    Like this

  6. I had almost forgotten the Argyles and that Alley Oop number! So sorry you are ill, but very pleased you thought of this wonderful motorcycling dog! His goggles are just to die for, aren’t they?

    Like this

  7. Snoopy, The Red Baron, has nothing over this mutt!

    Like this

  8. WoW. A pleasant trip to the past !
    Thanks,
    Hope you feel better soon. Have a quick recovery ☺.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like this

  9. adorable, and so classic!

    Like this

  10. I had to blow the dust off the old memory cells to recall Alley Oop, but I do remember the song, and the cartoon… thanks for the recall of days gone by. The 50′s and 60′s were a fun era where music was concerned.

    Like this

  11. I always think ‘basketball’ when I hear alley oop…
    or I DID!
    Now that dog will probably be the first thing that comes to mind!
    Awesome capture, F.T!

    Like this

Hearing from you makes my day!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,042 other followers

